Facebook in an Alternate Universe, Optimized for Touch

SEPTEMBER 2, 2013
There had been moments that I felt Facebook web interface on the iPad didn’t really feel good to use. There was of course a Facebook “App”, but that wasn’t as flexible as the web version.

One weekend, I took on the task to see how I would have done Facebook. Started playing around with few ideas from paper scribbles, to whiteboard and finally jumped to actual design tools :- )

Picture2

During this process there were multiple ideas dropping from all sides of brain cells, seemed like a BIG fight between them, which resulted in detailing out the two of the thoughts. First being – Kind of a year album through which you can flip by swiping left and right. Retaining the current year as focused center space.

Image

Another thought that saw the light and was intriguing – FB being a user’s Disc of Life. One can spin it and use needle to show current stage of life in this life chakra. Somehow I felt this thought needed more digging and detailing, so I opted for the first idea of Years Album and took it ahead to next stage of design.

Image

Below is the masterpiece carved after a lot of self-deliberation! It’s a weekend’s work, and I won’t say it was fully thought through, but yeah! it does what I wanted. Feeling elated, just like a runner completing a marathon. Comments, as always, are welcome!

Image

3 thoughts on “Facebook in an Alternate Universe, Optimized for Touch

  1. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog?

    My blog is in the very same area of interest as yours and
    my visitors would truly benefit from a lot of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this ok with you. Many thanks!

    Like

Leave a comment